Picture of Niklas Grabbe

M.Sc. Niklas Grabbe

Chair of Ergonomics (Prof. Bengler)

Postal address

Postal:
Boltzmannstr. 15
85747 Garching b. München

Biography

Mr. Niklas Grabbe, M. Sc. studied the Bachelor Degree Program in Scientific Principles of Sports and the Master Degree Program Ergonomics - Human Factors Engineering at the Technical University of Munich with a focus on system ergonomics and interaction design. As part of his Master's thesis at the Chair of Astronautics, Mr. Grabbe designed, implemented and evaluated an enhanced HMI for controlling a UAV using VR glasses in a teleoperated firefighting operation and examined the effects of various latencies on situation awareness and workload.

Since February 2018, Mr. Grabbe has been working as a research associate at the Chair of Ergonomics and as part of his doctoral thesis the research focus is on approval of autonomous driving. Specifically, the stated goal of increased safety by automation is to be investigated by means of a system approach to traffic modeling relating to accident analysis. The aim of the dissertation is to answer the following question: Is full automation really better in terms of traffic safety than the human driver or should rather human-machine cooperation be focused?

Currently, Mr. Grabbe is working on the joint project @CITY-AF, supported by the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy, where autonomous driving in the city is being examined from an ergonomic point of view. Particular emphasis is placed on interaction with vulnerable road users.

Courses

Winter term 2018/19

Course no.TitleLecturer (assistant)
0000002070Aviation Human Factors

Publications

Foto von Niklas Grabbe

M.Sc. Niklas Grabbe

Lehrstuhl für Ergonomie (Prof. Bengler)

Postadresse

Postal:
Boltzmannstr. 15
85747 Garching b. München

Biografie

Herr Niklas Grabbe, M. Sc. studierte den Bachelorstudiengang Wissenschaftliche Grundlagen des Sports sowie den Masterstudiengang Ergonomie - Human Factors Engineering an der Technischen Universität München mit den Schwerpunkten Systemergonomie und Interaktionsdesign. Im Rahmen seiner Masterarbeit am Lehrstuhl für Raumfahrttechnik konzipierte, implementierte und evaluierte Herr Grabbe ein erweitertes HMI zur Steuerung eines UAVs mittels VR-Brille für einen teleoperierten Feuerwehreinsatz und untersuchte die Effekte verschiedener Latenzzeiten unter anderem auf das Situationsbewusstsein und die Arbeitsbelastung.

Seit Februar 2018 ist Herr Grabbe als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Lehrstuhl für Ergonomie tätig und im Rahmen seiner Promotionsarbeit liegt der Forschungsfokus auf der Absicherung des autonomen Fahrens. Spezifisch soll das ausgemachte Ziel der erhöhten Sicherheit durch die Automation mittels eines Systemansatzes zur Verkehrsmodellierung bezüglich der Unfallanalyse untersucht werden. Das Ziel der Dissertation ist es die folgende Frage zu beantworten: Ist die Vollautomation wirklich besser hinsichtlich der Verkehrssicherheit als der menschliche Fahrer oder sollte vielmehr eine Mensch-Maschine-Kooperation fokussiert werden?

Aktuell bearbeitet Herr Grabbe das vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie unterstützte Verbundprojekt @CITY-AF, wobei das autonome Fahren in der Stadt speziell unter ergonomischen Gesichtspunkten untersucht wird. Besonderer Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf der Interaktion mit schwächeren Verkehrsteilnehmern.

Lehrveranstaltungen

Wintersemester 2018/19

Veröffentlichungen