Home > Klaus Bengler
Klaus Bengler
  • Prof. Dr. phil. Klaus Bengler

  • Room: MW 3331
  • Email: bengler@lfe.mw.tum.de
  • Telephone: +49 89 289 15400
  • Team: Lehre | Systemergonomie | Anthropometrie
  • Biography:

    Klaus Bengler graduated in psychology at the University of Regensburg in 1991 and received his PhD in 1995 in cooperation with BMW at the Institute of Psychology (Prof. Dr. Zimmer. After his PhDhe was active on topics of software ergonomics and evaluation of human-machine interfaces. He investigated the influence of additional tasks on driving performance in several studies within EMMIS EU project and in contract with BMW. Multifunctional steering wheels, touch screens and ACC-functionality are examples for the topics of these investigations. In 1997 he joined BMW. From several projects he is experienced with experimental knowledge and experience with different kind of driving simulators and field trials. At BMW he was responsible for the HMI project of the MOTIV program, a national follow on the program of PROMETHEUS. Within BMW Research and Technology he was responsible for projects on HMI research and leader of the usability lab. Since May 2009 he is head of the Institute of Ergonomics at Technische Universität München which is active in research areas like digital human modeling, human robot cooperation, driver assistance HMI and human reliability. He is leading the German Standardization Group (FAKRA) AK-10 "Mensch als Fahrzeugführer" and is active member of ISO TC22 SC13 WG8 „Road vehicles - Ergonomic aspects of transport information and control systems“ as well as member of VDI working group "Menschliche Zuverlässigkeit". He is member of the working group Research of the Round Table Automated Driving (BMVI) and is project leader of the project column Human Factors in Traffic in the German Research Initiative UR:BAN funded by BMWi..

  • General Information:

    No information available

  • Publications:

    • Bubb, H., Bengler, K., Grünen, R.E., Vollrath, M. (2015).Automobilergonomie. Springer Fachmedien Wiesbaden. ISBN: 978-3-8348-1890-4
    • Bengler, K., Dietmayer, K., Färber, B., Maurer, M., Stiller, C., Winner, H.d: Three Decades of Driver Assistance Systems: Review and Future Perspectives. IEEE Intell. Transport. Syst. Mag. 6(4): 6-22 (2014) 10.1109/MITS.2014.2336271
    • Akamatsu, M., Green, P., Bengler, K. (2013). Automotive technology and human factors research : past, present, and future. In: International Journal of Vehicular Technology, Volume 2013 (2013), 27 pages. http://dx.doi.org/10.1155/2013/526180
    • Bengler, K., Zimmermann, M., Bortot, D., Kienle, M., Damböck, D. (2012). Interaction Principles for Cooperative Human-Machine Systems. it - Information Technology, 54(4), pp 157-164. (doi: 10.1524/itit.2012.0680)
    • Bengler, K. & Flemisch, F. (2011). Von H-MODE zur kooperativen Fahrzeugführung – grundlegende ergonomische Fragestellungen. 5. Darmstädter Kolloquium – Zukunft der Fahrzeugführung. Kooperativ oder autonom. 5. Darmstädter Kolloquium – Zukunft der Fahrzeugführung. Kooperativ oder autonom. 6./7. April TU Darmstadt
    • Bengler, K., Mattes, S., Hamm, O., Hensel, M. (2010). Lane Change Test: Preliminary Results of a Multi-Laboratory Calibration Study In: Rupp, G.L. (Ed.). Performance Metrics for Assessing Driver Distraction: The Quest for Improved Road Safety. Chpt. 14 (pg. 243-253). SAE International. Warrendale, Pennsylvania.
    • Bengler, K. (2001). Aspekte der multimodalen Bedienung und Anzeige im Automobil. In Th. Jürgensohn & K.-P. Timpe (Hrsg.) Kraftfahrzeugführung. (pp. 195-206). Berlin, Heidelberg, New York: Springer.
    • Bengler, K., Bubb, H., Totzke, I., Schumann, J., Flemisch F. (2012). Automotive. In: Sandl, P. & Stein, M. Information Ergonomics - A theoretical approach and practical experience in transportation. Springer Berlin, Heidelberg
    • Bengler, K., Kohlmann, M., & Lange, C. (2012). Assessment of cognitive workload of in-vehicle systems using a visual peripheral and tactile detection task setting. In: Work: A Journal of Prevention, Assessment and Rehabilitation 41 (Supplement 1/2012), S. 4919–4923.

  • Projects:

  • Courses taught:

    Lecturer:

Home > Klaus Bengler
Klaus Bengler
  • Prof. Dr. phil. Klaus Bengler

  • Raum: MW 3331
  • Email: bengler@lfe.mw.tum.de
  • Telefon: +49 89 289 15400
  • Team: Lehre | Systemergonomie | Anthropometrie
  • Biografie:

    Klaus Bengler hat an der Universität Regensburg Diplompsychologie studiert und 1995 in Kooperation mit der BMW Forschung am Lehrstuhl für Allgemeine und Angewandte Psychologe (Prof. Dr. Zimmer) promoviert. Danach war er im Bereich der Softwareergonomie und Bewertung von Mensch-Maschine Interaktionskonzepten tätig. Nach 1997 untersuchte er den Einfluss von Zweitaufgaben auf die Fahraufgabe und Verkehrssicherheit in verschiendenen Forschungsprojekten als Mitarbeiter der BMW Group. Danach war er in leitender Funktion in der BMW Group verantwortlich für die Forschungsaktivitäten zu zukünftigen Bedien-/Anzeigekonzepten im Bereich Fahrerassistenzsysteme, Touchbedienung, Gestik- und Sprachinteraktion; daneben für den Betrieb des Usability Labors. Seit Mai 2009 leitet er den Lehrstuhl für Ergonomie der Technischen Universität München, der in den Bereichen Digitale Menschmodellierung, Systemergonomie und Menschliche Zuverlässigkeit forscht. Daneben ist Professor Bengler aktiv als Leiter des deutschen Fachnormenausschuss Kraftfahrtindustrie (FAKRA) AK-10 Mensch als Fahrzeugführer und ist Mitglied in der ISO TC22 SC13 WG8  „Road vehicles - Ergonomic aspects of transport information and control systems“ sowie im VDI Arbeitskreis Menschliche Zuverlässigkeit. Er ist Mitglied der Arbeitsgruppe Forschung des Runden Tisch Automatisiertes Fahren des BMVI und leitet die Projektsäule Mensch im Verkehr der Forschungsinititative UR:BAN gefördert durch das BMWi.

  • Allgemeine Informationen:

    • Sprechstunde während der vorlesungsfreien Zeit: freitags 13:00 - 15:00 Uhr mit Anmeldung
    • Sprechstunde während der Vorlesungszeit: freitags 15:00 - 17:00 Uhr

  • Publikationen:

    • Bubb, H., Bengler, K., Grünen, R.E., Vollrath, M. (2015).Automobilergonomie. Springer Fachmedien Wiesbaden. ISBN: 978-3-8348-1890-4
    • Bengler, K., Dietmayer, K., Färber, B., Maurer, M., Stiller, C., Winner, H.d: Three Decades of Driver Assistance Systems: Review and Future Perspectives. IEEE Intell. Transport. Syst. Mag. 6(4): 6-22 (2014) 10.1109/MITS.2014.2336271
    • Akamatsu, M., Green, P., Bengler, K. (2013). Automotive technology and human factors research : past, present, and future. In: International Journal of Vehicular Technology, Volume 2013 (2013), 27 pages. http://dx.doi.org/10.1155/2013/526180
    • Bengler, K., Zimmermann, M., Bortot, D., Kienle, M., Damböck, D. (2012). Interaction Principles for Cooperative Human-Machine Systems. it - Information Technology, 54(4), pp 157-164. (doi: 10.1524/itit.2012.0680)
    • Bengler, K. & Flemisch, F. (2011). Von H-MODE zur kooperativen Fahrzeugführung – grundlegende ergonomische Fragestellungen. 5. Darmstädter Kolloquium – Zukunft der Fahrzeugführung. Kooperativ oder autonom. 5. Darmstädter Kolloquium – Zukunft der Fahrzeugführung. Kooperativ oder autonom. 6./7. April TU Darmstadt
    • Bengler, K., Mattes, S., Hamm, O., Hensel, M. (2010). Lane Change Test: Preliminary Results of a Multi-Laboratory Calibration Study In: Rupp, G.L. (Ed.). Performance Metrics for Assessing Driver Distraction: The Quest for Improved Road Safety. Chpt. 14 (pg. 243-253). SAE International. Warrendale, Pennsylvania.
    • Bengler, K. (2001). Aspekte der multimodalen Bedienung und Anzeige im Automobil. In Th. Jürgensohn & K.-P. Timpe (Hrsg.) Kraftfahrzeugführung. (pp. 195-206). Berlin, Heidelberg, New York: Springer.
    • Bengler, K., Bubb, H., Totzke, I., Schumann, J., Flemisch F. (2012). Automotive. In: Sandl, P. & Stein, M. Information Ergonomics - A theoretical approach and practical experience in transportation. Springer Berlin, Heidelberg
    • Bengler, K., Kohlmann, M., & Lange, C. (2012). Assessment of cognitive workload of in-vehicle systems using a visual peripheral and tactile detection task setting. In: Work: A Journal of Prevention, Assessment and Rehabilitation 41 (Supplement 1/2012), S. 4919–4923.

  • Betreute Projekte:

  • Lehrveranstaltungen:

    Dozent: